NFL All-Pro 2018: Patrick Mahomes leads four Chiefs' players in the First Team

Once the NFL regular season ends, the post season starts with the wild card round, culminating in the Super Bowl where the best team from the National Football Conference (NFC) squares up against the best team from the American Football Conference (AFC). Along with the post season, the award season also commences. Starting with the Pro Bowl selections and ending with the NFL honours, a night before the Super Bowl. During the award season, one of the most prestigious awards for players is an inclusion in the Associated Press’(AP) All Pro Team. The AP voting panel features 50 media members with a lot of experience and reverence in the field of NFL coverage. The All Pro teams are considered a more accurate indication of players’ abilities compared to the Pro Bowl (which has been criticised for being more of a popularity contest where fan favourite players make the team and much more deserving players are left out). A great example of that happened this year when Green Bay Packers‘ left tackle David Bakhtiari wasn’t selected for the Pro Bowl, but he was selected as a First Team All Pro.
Center Jim Otto and Wide Receiver Jerry Rice have the most First Team All Pro Selections in NFL History with both being selected 10 times. Among active players, punter Shane Lechler has the most First Team All Pro selections with 6.
This year’s All Pro list punctuated a fantastic year for the electric Kansas City Chiefs‘ offence. Quarterback Patrick Mahomes, who became only the second player after Peyton Manning to throw at least 50 touchdowns and 5000 yards in a single season, beat out New Orleans SaintsDrew Brees for the First Team spot. One of Mahomes’ favourite targets while throwing the ball, and the fastest player in the NFL, Tyreek Hill made the All Pro teams twice. First Team All Pro as a flex player and Second Team All Pro as a wide receiver. Tight End Travis Kelce firmly established himself as the best at his position with his First Team selection. The star of the Kansas City offensive line, right tackle Mitchell Schwartz also made the First Team. IN fact, the Chiefs could’ve possibly had five First Team All Pro players if running back Kareem Hunt wasn’t released from the team following the release of a video of him physically assaulting a woman.
The following is the complete list of players selected in the 2018 AP NFL All Pro Teams:



Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
Running Back: Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams
Flex: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
Wide Receivers: Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans
Left Tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay Packers
Right Tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City Chiefs
Left Guard: Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys
Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles


Edge Rushers: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans; Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears
Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia Eagles
Linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts
Cornerbacks: Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots
Safeties: Eddie Jackson, Chicago Bears; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers
Defensive Back: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers
Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
Punter: Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks
Kick Returner: Andre Roberts, New York Jets
Punt Returner: Tarik Cohen, Chicago Bears
Special Teamer: Adrian Phillips, Los Angeles Chargers



Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys
Flex: Christian McCaffrey, Carolina Panthers
Tight End: George Kittle, San Francisco 49ers
Wide Receivers: Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
Left Tackle: Duane Brown, Seattle Seahawks; Terron Armstead, New Orleans Saints
Right Tackle: Ryan Ramczyk, New Orleans Saints
Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns
Right Guard: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens
Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Steelers


Edge Rushers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints; Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings
Interior Linemen: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans
Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens; Leighton Vander Esch, Dallas Cowboys
Cornerbacks: Byron Jones, Dallas Cowboys; Xavien Howard, Miami Dolphins
Safeties: Jamal Adams, New York Jets; Harrison Smith, Minnesota Vikings
Defensive Back: Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Aldrick Rosas, New York Giants
Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles Rams
Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, New England Patriots
Punt Returner: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers
Special Teamer: Cory Littleton, Los Angeles Rams

Related posts

10 Revenge Moments by Indian Cricketers That Shows Karma Is Real!

Shalini Mukherjee

NBA: Jayson Tatum Predicts that the Celtics Will Make the 2020 NBA Finals

Akarsh Shekhar

2022 PGA Championship Fan Guide

Akarsh Shekhar